3 More Bay Area Counties Enter Less Restrictive ‘Red’ Tier

AP Photo/Ted S. Warren, File

Seven more California counties have moved from the ‘Purple’ Tier into the less restrictive ‘Red’ Tier on Tuesday.

As coronavirus rates continue to drop Bay Area counties Napa, San Francisco and Santa Clara are following suit as Marin and San Mateo entered the ‘Red’ Tier two weeks ago. The four additional counties moving tiers include El Dorado, Lassen, Modoc, and San Luis Obispo.

The Red tier allows:

  • Retail stores 50% indoor capacity
  • Museums and zoos: 25% capacity
  • Gyms: 10% indoor capacity
  • Indoor dining allowed at 25% capacity
  • Movie theaters open at 25% capacity

Schools that haven’t reopened for in-person learning already can also file plans to reopen once they’re out of the purple tier for five days.

In order to move into the ‘Red’ Tier, a county must show that its percent positivity rate is 5-8% and its average daily new cases over seven days dropped to 4-7 per 100,000.

In addition, counties aiming to move tiers they must do the following:

Requirements to Advance Tiers:

  • 21 day mandatory wait time between moves
  • Meet metrics for next tier for 2 straight weeks
  • Counties only move 1 tier at a time
  • Assessed weekly

Requirements to Move Back Tiers:

  • Fail to meet the current tier’s metrics for 2 straight weeks
  • Emergency brake for concerning factors like hospitalizations

Stay Informed with KSFO


Subscribe to 560 KSFO's weekly eblast for the latest national and local news updates, exclusive contests, events and more.